#### **Introduction:**

The I<sup>2</sup>MC-I, 2016 is the first ever academic conference organized by the Department of Mathematics, University of Sri Jayewardenepura. It will impart real mathematical research experience to about 200 undergraduate and graduate students in Sri Lanka. These students who were discouraged by financial circumstances, lack of opportunity, and lack of research exposure, will be inspired by the group of invited speakers including world renowned plenary mathematicians, mathematics faculty members, and industrial professionals in Sri Lanka.

Main objectives of the conference are:

- 1. Nurture and enhance knowledge in Mathematics among undergraduates, postgraduates, and academic staff;
- 2. Share the passion in Mathematics by stimulating novel research ideas in the local Mathematics community;
- 3. Build collaborations between the local universities with the universities elsewhere in the developed world;
- 4. Increase the enrollment in graduate programs in mathematics;
- 5. Give newfangled opportunity for students to have interactions with the industry; and
- 6. Identify the challenges faced by the public universities in Sri Lanka and strategies to overcome them.

## **Plenary Speakers:**



Professor Goong Chen, Texas A&M University, Texas, USA



Professor Ilias Kotsireas, Wilfrid Laurier University, Waterloo, Canada



Professor James Nagy, Emory University, Georgia, USA



Dr. Sivaguru S. Sritharan,
Air Force Institute of Technology,
Ohio, USA



The International
Industrial Mathematics
Conference-I
(I<sup>2</sup>MC-I)

University of
Sri Jayewardenepura
Sri Lanka

June 3-5, 2016







## **List of Invited Speakers:**

- Prof. P.W. Epasinghe, Prof. Emeritus, Universities of Colombo and Sri Jayewardenepura, Sri Lanka
- 2. Prof. P. A. Jayantha, University of Ruhuna, Sri Lanka
- 3. Dr. T. G. I. Fernando, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Sri Lanka
- 4. Rev. Dr. Prem J. Fernando, University of Warwick, UK
- 5. Dr. Sirani M. Perera, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Florida, USA
- Dr. Rasitha Jayasekera, Butler University, Indianapolis, USA
- 7. Dr. Dilum de Silva, Bowling Green State University, Ohio, USA
- 8. Dr. Ushani Dias, Actuarial Associate, Voya Financial, Connecticut, USA
- 9. Dr. H.K. Priyantha, Actuarial Analyst, Milliman, Connecticut, USA
- Dr. Milanthi Surukkali, Actuarial and Risk Managment Consultant, Sri Lanka
- 11. Dr. Sujata Gamage, Pragathi Foundation, Sri Lanka
- 12. Dr. Rohan Samarajeeva, CEO, Lirne Asia (Pvt. Ltd.) Colombo, Sri Lanka
- 13. Dr. S. Krishnakumar, Open University, Sri Lanka
- 14. Dr. Sujeewa Haputhanthri, NARA, Sri Lanka
- 15. Dr. K. A. Avantha Indika, University of Colombo, Sri Lanka
- 16. Mr. Sanath Panawennege, Director, Arthur C. Clarke Center, Sri Lanka
- 17. Mr. Mahinda B. Herath, CEO, Sky Network, Colombo

# Poster Competition and Career Session:

A poster competition for graduate and undergraduate students will be held. There will be prizes for top three poster presenters and certificates for all participants.

In Sri Lanka, it is quite well-known that some undergraduates are having a hard time on getting a job even after graduating. Thus to help this issue, a career fair will be held to open a path to connect undergraduates with the industrial partners in Sri Lanka. This session will be directed by industrial representatives in Sri Lanka.

### A Word from the Organizers:

As mathematics can be applied to any subject area, there is no doubt that sharing research in this manner will produce versatile graduates and undergraduates who can make a difference in the pearl of the Indian Ocean.

All members of the Department of Mathematics hold hands as local organizing committee members to bring I<sup>2</sup>MC-I, 2016 a fruitful event.

# I<sup>2</sup>MC-I, 2016 Organizing Committee Members:

#### **Advisory Board**

- 1. Prof. Sunethra Weerakoon
- 2. Dr. Menaka Liyanage
- 3. Dr. R. Sanjeewa

#### Conference Co-Chairs

- 1. Dr. Sirani M. Perera
- 2. Dr. Naleen Ganegoda

#### **Local Organizing Committee**

- 1. Dr. R. P. K. C. M. Ranasinghe
- 2. Mr. K. K. W. A. S. Kumara
- 3. Dr. G. H. J. Lanel
- 4. Ms. D. S. Rodrigo
- 5. Mr. G. J. K. Silva
- 6. Ms. M. T. M. Perera
- 7. Ms. H. K. Pallage
- 8. Ms. U. V. C. H. Subasinghe
- 9. Mr. J. A. G. S. N. Jayasinghe
- 10.Mrs. A. A. Jayathissa
- 11. Mathematics Instructors

Inquiries:+94112758371 (8.00 a.m. - 5.00 p.m. in Sri Lankan time)

Department of Mathematics Faculty of Applied Sciences University of Sri Jayewardenepura



